The Ottumwa Courier

January 7, 2014

22 Wapello County employees honored

Courier Editor

---- — OTTUMWA — Longevity in public service was honored by the Wapello County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday morning.

During its first meeting of 2014, the supervisors honored 22 employees for reaching milestones in their employment with the county.

Among the employees honored included: Mary Butler, five years, auditor's office; Pamela Norton, 15 years, auditor's office; Marquetta Huffman, 10 years, Mental Health Adovacy; Travis Bailey, 15 years, Secondary Roads; Debra Salter, 10 years, Secondary Roads; Todd Glosser, 15 years, Secondary Roads; Chris Kitterman, 15 years, Secondary Roads; Janice Crowder, five years, sheriff's office; Todd Evans, five years, sheriff's office; Jeff Layton, 25 years, sheriff's office; Tyler Herrick, five years, sheriff's office; Donald McMartin, five years, sheriff's office; Mark Miller, 25 years, sheriff's office; Kelly Shaw, 15 years, sheriff's office; Sherry Sylvester, 15 years, sheriff's office; Jayne Peck, 10 years, motor vehicle; Melia Moore, five years, motor vehicle; Lisa Kent, 10 years, recorder's office; Lynelle Diers, 20 years, Public Health nurse; Betty Edgington, 20 years, Public Health nurse; Mary Flattery, 20 years, Public Health nurse; and Lynette Wright, five years, Public Health nurse.

Outgoing Board Chairman Greg Kenning said recognizing the milestones in county employment shows their service and commitment to the citizens of Wapello County. "It's quite a list," he said. "We congratulate them and thank them for their many years of loyal service to Wapello County."

In other business, the board:

• Elected Jerry Parker as the 2014 chairman of the Wapello County Board of Supervisors. Steve Siegel was elected as vice chair.

• Worked through a laundry list of appointments and reappointments to various commissions and boards in Wapello County. The board agreed that it would work to "clean up the list" of appointments in the near future.

• Reappointed the Ottumwa Courier as its newspaper of record for 2014.