The Ottumwa Courier

January 12, 2013

Compensation Board suggests salary increase for officials

Courier Staff Writer

OTTUMWA — Members of the Wapello County Compensation Board are recommending an increase in salaries for the county’s elected officials.

If approved, the increase would be 4 percent for the following Wapello County elected officials:

• Wapello County Attorney Lisa Holl’s current salary is $71,079.65, and the 4 percent increase of $2,843.19 would increase her salary to $73,922.84.

• Wapello County Auditor Kelly Spurgeon’s salary is $49,449.67, and the 4 percent increase would mean $1,977.99 more for a total of $51,427.66.

• Wapello County Recorder Joyce Hass now earns $48,998.76 — a 4 percent increase would push her salary to $50,958.71.

• Dianne Kiefer, the Wapello County Treasurer, now earns $49,209.08; the proposed increase would be $1,968.36, making the new total $51,177.44.

• Wapello County Sheriff Mark Miller now makes $62,812.77 — 4 percent increase of $2,512.51 would increase his total to $65,325.28.

The current salary for the three members of the Wapello County Board of Supervisors — Steve Siegel, Jerry Parker and Greg Kenning —  is $33,441.76 each. The increase of $1,337.67 would bump up their salaries to $34,779.43.

Supervisors to consider salary increases

Possible salary increases for the county’s elected officials will be on the agenda when the Wapello County Board of Supervisors meet next week.

Wapello County Supervisor Greg Kenning said Friday that the board will have to decide if any increases are feasible.

“We’ll have to weigh it against whatever is needed for the non-elected employees,” he said, adding that those workers are wanting 2.25 percent increase.

In other business, the supervisors will hear a report on the final design services for Bridge 38, which is over Little Cedar Creek in Dahlonega Township. They expect the project to be a new standard continuance concrete slab bridge.

“It’s most economical to replace an existing bridge,” Kenning said.

The board is set to meet at 9:30 a.m. Tuesday in the boardroom on the third floor of the Wapello County Courthouse.