The Ottumwa Courier

October 17, 2013

How Iowa's delegation voted on bill ending shutdown

Ottumwa Courier

---- — WASHINGTON — Iowa's Congressional delegation split on the bill that ended the government shutdown, but it wasn't entirely a partisan divide.

Iowa has an equal number of Democrats and Republicans representing it in Washington. On the Senate side, Republican Charles Grassley voted against the bill, while Democrat Tom Harkin voted for it.

The House delegation from Iowa is where a member crossed party lines. Both of the Democrats, Dave Loebsack and Bruce Braley, voted for the bill. They were joined by Tom Latham, a Republican. Rep. Steve King, a Republican, voted against the bill.

The bill passed the House 285-144, and passed 81-18 in the Senate.