The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

May 1, 2013

Other opinions Are huge giveaways the best strategy?

(Continued)

But how much public gain will there be beyond the public investment?

Iowa Economic Development Director Debi Durham said that based on a cost-benefit analysis, she is satisfied the state incentives will be repaid in economic benefit. “We do a return-on-investment analysis” on every project, she told the Register, “and this one had a positive return. The downstream benefit will be huge.”

It will be some time before that return begins to flow to the state, given the size of its investment. As for the city, a child born in Altoona today would be a senior in college before the city reaps any property-tax benefit from the Facebook center.

The question is whether the state’s investment in these huge projects, including a similar project by Google in Council Bluffs and the Orascom fertilizer plant in Lee County, are the best strategy for attracting and growing companies that offer good wages and benefits.

Do enormously profitable companies like Facebook, Google and Microsoft really need government assistance financed by Iowa taxpayers? These tax incentives not only create a bidding war among states desperate for jobs but these incentives are now the minimum expectation.

Might the resources devoted to these big projects create more jobs, and long-term economic growth, if they were spread among smaller companies? Do these projects fit Iowa’s long-term goal of focusing on a few key areas, such as biotechnology and cutting-edge manufacturing that adds value to Iowa products?

The people of Iowa are being asked to spend substantial amounts of tax money on economic development incentives to businesses. That is money that cannot be spent on other things, including clean rivers and lakes, world-class schools, libraries and other public services that have direct economic impact by making Iowa an attractive destination for employers and employees.

Iowa has landed some big developments in recent years, but the state must demonstrate that the public investment in those projects will result in a greater public benefit.

— The Des Moines Register. April 28, 2013.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National