The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

May 30, 2013

Lemonade stand unfairly targeted

Recently, my kids and their friends wanted to have a lemonade stand at our home on North Court Street. This is something we do very often and have for the last five years since we moved here.

A police officer showed up informing us that someone had called them to complain that the lemonade stand should be shut down because my kids were selling FOOD ITEMS (peanuts). They were also selling lemonade, water, sodas and snow cones. I don't know why someone would be so ugly in their hearts to call the police to shut down a CHILDREN'S lemonade stand, but I am sure those individuals must not have a very happy life. Side note — the children were raising money for the Heartland Humane Society and raised $75, and we purchased dog and cat food and treats, which were handed out to every dog.

This letter is to tell readers that we will be having another lemonade stand on June 1 with all proceeds going to the people of Moore, Okla., due to the tornado tragedy. There will be NO cost for any item. It will be donation only, and everything will go to the Moore Public School Foundation.

Let's see how big of a turnout we can get and show people that Ottumwa IS a great town full of wonderful people.

Stephanie Maggio

Ottumwa

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National