The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

June 5, 2012

Go to the polls today

Our Opinion

OTTUMWA — It’s simple. If you go to the polls today, you are staking a claim in your future. If you do not vote, you are ignoring your civic responsibility and have no reason to complain later on when you believe something is amiss with county, state or the federal government.

Today’s primary election for Democrats and Republicans is a critical part of determining what happens at the county, state and federal level.

But in recent elections, the voter percentages have been pathetic.

Today, let’s change those numbers. Show you care and help decide which path you believe we should take.

Perhaps it’s with the incumbents, or maybe you prefer the challengers.

Or voters may want to retain an incumbent while also choosing some newcomers at the same time.

Whatever your preferences, at least you’re making your voice heard and you are helping to shape the future.

This election is important, and as we’ve said before, democracy only works well when there is full participation.

Hope to see you at the polls today!

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

  • 0831 OTT Opinion Guest editorial mug -L -T Davis Co. residents, businesses need access to affordable, reliable broadband The Federal Communications Commission’s recent rule changes are having a significant impact on Citizens Mutual Telephone Company and its consumers, forcing a reduction of capital spending, significantly due to the lack of certainty in future revenue

    August 30, 2013 1 Photo

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National