The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

April 21, 2012

Saturday Saidits

Our Opinion

OTTUMWA — The word that Pella Regional Health Center plans to open a family practice facility this fall in Ottumwa is welcomed news.

It’s no secret that the Ottumwa area is in need of more medical professionals — physicians and specialists who can serve a diverse population with various medical needs.

The proposed clinic will complement our existing medical facilities in town and will be an economic boost to the west side of Ottumwa.

The response to the city’s Community Development Block Grant application for adaptive reuse of commercial buildings was tremendous.

Twenty-two applications were submitted by downtown building owners who want to make changes to their properties to accommodate much needed housing space in Ottumwa.

Of course this is just the beginning of turning downtown Ottumwa into the vibrant retail and residential area it could be, but it’s a sign Ottumwa is ready to move forward.

Finally, kudos to those young people from Pekin High School, along with countless other volunteers, who have been busy this week helping property owners in Hedrick clean up the town following last weekend’s severe storm.

The students pitched in to pick up debris and offer a helping hand to their neighbors and friends who were impacted by the storm.

That type of community spirit is evident throughout southeast Iowa. It’s a true reflection of the compassion, the heart and the tenacity it takes to help those in need.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National