The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

July 13, 2013

Don't deny theatrical production

I am a 2008 graduate of Ottumwa High School and some unsettling news was brought to my attention. The superintendent of the Ottumwa Schools has decided not to give permission to the OHS Drama department to perform the show “The Laramie Project."

For those that are unfamiliar, it is an incredibly poignant show about the brutal killing of a homosexual young man and the unprecedented effect it had on the town that he was raised in. The show is gritty, beautiful and simultaneously breaks down and restores your faith in humanity. Regardless of your beliefs on homosexuality, this show is, to me, a statement on how people’s lives and deaths have such a profound effect on one another.

I was under the impression that we were far past not allowing thought-provoking pieces in our schools. There was a time when most of the books that have become a staple in high school English classes were on a “ban list."

We have a responsibility as a society to face issues, such as the one presented in “The Laramie Project," because without recognizing and tackling them, we are doomed to keep struggling with them without resolution.

Please, I ask only that you look into the real reasons that this incredible show has been denied. To deny a high school that on a daily basis wrestles with bullying, a show with such a positive message of acceptance and kindness is such a heartwrenching injustice.

Kayla Rowe

Ottumwa

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National