The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

July 10, 2013

Can redemption a challenge

Can redemption a challenge

Many have noticed that the can redemption center at Tenco has closed for two weeks to allow us to install additional equipment donated by John Deere Ottumwa Works and a chance to get caught up. We understand that this presents an inconvenience to the community, and we will work hard to get back open as soon as possible.

We are taking in more than double the amount of cans and bottles than we were two years ago. We currently have more than 1.3 million cans in storage alone, and our current processing capabilities limit us to just more than 50,000 a day. It is a very difficult situation.

The reason for the increase is that many other can redemption centers have closed, and people are bringing cans from 40 miles away or more. The real question is: How can we make this system work? Why are all the other redemption centers closing? We believe this is due to the division of the can and bottle deposits. Under the current law, the redemption center earns one cent per can or bottle processed. The bottom line is that operating and maintaining a redemption center is a money-losing proposition under the current situation. Since the law was put in place 23 years ago, redemption centers have not seen an increase. The price of aluminum has almost doubled in that time, but centers don’t receive that increase — the distributors do. We are not asking the distributors to contribute more, but the system needs to be reviewed to prevent additional redemption centers from closing.

Tenco is here for the community. Our first priority is serving those with disabilities, and providing jobs to process cans is good for those we serve and for the community. However, we cannot continue to operate a can redemption center that loses money and risks all of our other operations. There is a way you can help. Donating your cans is one way, but more importantly, we will be looking for your support in our next legislative session to pass a change in rules that will allow all centers to retain two cents per can. Without this, many more centers will close.

Ben Wright

executive director

Tenco Industries, Inc.

Ottumwa

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National