The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

April 13, 2013

Remember: 'Thou Shall not Kill'

Thou shalt not kill — no exceptions. Isn’t that one of the Ten Commandments? Some of the Bible can vary with our different interpretations. But the commandments are very clearly stated, with no room for variance. That being the case, how do we justify doing anything different?

I may be a Democrat, but I strongly disagree with Roe vs. Wade, which is for abortion. Some think it is fine in the first trimester. It is beyond my understanding how anyone can think it is not a human being after fertilization. Don’t we call a seed a plant after it sprouts?

My wife and I did something that deeply influenced our thinking. We adopted a baby boy in 1971 and a baby girl in 1976. Carla’s biological mother wrote the most tearful letter we have ever read. In this letter she also informed us that on her way to get an abortion she changed her mind. This dramatic event has given us great pause foreverand also set in stone the commandment – Thou shall not kill. How could we think differently?

Some feel that capital punishment is fine but are against abortion. How is one better than the other when each is taking a life? Why do we justify things to coincide with our thinking vs. the Lord’s Commandment? Do we believe the word of the Bible or not? Let us quit swaying in the wind and either be a believer or not. God is the one we must answer to, not to our own subjective thinking. Let us remember that God etched in stone “Thou Shall not Kill.”

Gary Askew

Fairfield

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National