The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

April 13, 2013

'Leafing' through the memories

As I walked to my car on my dinner break the other night, the smell of burning leaves filled the air. And I loved it.

That scent took me on a trip down memory lane. Even though spring is finally on its way, the first memories to fill my mind came from the fall days of my youth. Visions of giant leaf piles ready for jumping (we had a huge yard with no shortage of trees, including a walnut tree) initially came to me. I remembered my brothers carrying me in the garbage cans full of leaves and dumping me into the pile as well. My sister and I took advantage of the abundance of leaves and raked them into squares and rectangles with openings for “doors.” Yes, we built “houses” out of the leaves and brought out our Cabbage Patch dolls to play house. I vaguely remember burning some of the leaves in our driveway, which is why the scent invoked these memories.

Eventually, we started taking our leaves to the tree dump. That was quite an adventure. My dad would borrow a pickup truck from one of his friends, and we would load the back up. Then we would climb in to hold the leaves down; it was such a treat to ride in the back of a truck for me in those days, and I always looked forward to this part of raking. When we arrived at the huge compost heap, we would empty the mass of leaves out and and then sweep what felt like every last crumb out of the bed of the truck. My dad now has his own pickup, and he’s still careful to make sure the bed of the truck is completely empty before he heads back home, enlisting my brothers’ kids to help when they’re visiting.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

  • 0831 OTT Opinion Guest editorial mug -L -T Davis Co. residents, businesses need access to affordable, reliable broadband The Federal Communications Commission’s recent rule changes are having a significant impact on Citizens Mutual Telephone Company and its consumers, forcing a reduction of capital spending, significantly due to the lack of certainty in future revenue

    August 30, 2013 1 Photo

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National