The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

June 12, 2013

Plenty of summer fun in southeast Iowa region

Time to don the shorts, shades and sunscreen.

Now that school is out for the summer, southeast Iowa has a variety of events and family oriented fun that is sure to pique the interest of those looking for something to do close to home.

Here’s just a sampling of some of the activities going on: the Wapello County Fair in Eldon, the Wapello County 4-H Expo, Ottumwa Municipal Band concerts, productions by the Ottumwa Community Players and the American Gothic Performing Arts Festival, the Ottumwa Pro-Balloon Races, Central Park Cinema, the Ottumwa Fourth of July Jamboree, Live After Five and so much more.

There are also numerous activities in nearby communities including Fairfield, Albia, Bloomfield, Centerville, Sigourney, Douds, Hedrick and more.

We are fortunate that families and friends needn’t travel far to find summer entertainment that is family-friendly and affordable.

More importantly, southeast Iowa is home to a large number of volunteers who work hard every year to create and organize these summertime events.

There’s plenty to do in southeast Iowa this summer — take advantage and enjoy!

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

  • 0831 OTT Opinion Guest editorial mug -L -T Davis Co. residents, businesses need access to affordable, reliable broadband The Federal Communications Commission’s recent rule changes are having a significant impact on Citizens Mutual Telephone Company and its consumers, forcing a reduction of capital spending, significantly due to the lack of certainty in future revenue

    August 30, 2013 1 Photo

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National