The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

August 30, 2013

Davis Co. residents, businesses need access to affordable, reliable broadband

The Federal Communications Commission’s recent rule changes are having a significant impact on Citizens Mutual Telephone Company and its consumers, forcing a reduction of capital spending, significantly due to the lack of certainty in future revenue streams.

Citizens Mutual Telephone Company is only expanding to the extent that we can do it with our own cash reserves. While we are fortunate at Citizens to have planned far enough ahead to bring advanced fiber optic network services to two-thirds of our customers, the reality for the future is this: There has already been a staff reduction by 5 percent with the possibility of future reductions if the impact of the transformation order are as dire as we expect. Additionally, two-thirds of the territory we serve do not have access to fiber optic services.

It’s a concern that the independent telecommunications companies in Iowa have been voicing for the past several years as the FCC discussed the potential rule changes. And now, these concerns are turning into reality, according to an independent study conducted for the Iowa Telecommunications Association (ITA) by the Center for Economic Development and Business Research in the W. Frank Barton School of Business at Wichita State University.

One hundred independent telecommunications companies participated in the study, which indicated that all of the companies foresee loss of revenue as a result of the FCC’s November 2011 Transformation Order on the Universal Service Fund (USF) and Intercarrier Compensation. The study reports that USF dollars funded for these companies will drop $47.1 million from 2012-17. The Universal Service Fund is a pool all providers contribute to in order to ensure accessibility to high-cost areas as stipulated by the Telecommunications Act of 1996.

These are the companies that invested millions in Iowa’s network infrastructure and are dedicated to providing reliable and affordable broadband options to consumers in rural and urban Iowa.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National