The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

May 19, 2012

Congrats to the Class of 2012!

OTTUMWA — So begins the annual parade of high school graduates collecting a diploma and moving toward their future.

Tonight’s commencement ceremony at Albia High School is the first of 19 graduation events in the Courier’s coverage area.

That’s followed by 18 more commencements now through June 10 as young people move toward the next phase of their lives.

Graduation can be bittersweet. It’s a chance to celebrate the accomplishments of the hard work by these high school graduates. But it’s also time of reflection as many of these grads move on toward college, the military, the workforce, often leaving loved ones and friends behind as they transition to a new life.

But we believe our area high schools have done a solid job of preparing our young people toward what is arguably an uncertain future.

A sluggish economy and a tight job market await many of our grads. There are also concerns about the increasing debt many college graduates owe following matriculation at the college level.

But we’re optimistic that the same hard work and dedication that these students have put forth thus far will pay dividends in the future whether they go on to college or pursue other endeavors.

Southern Iowa has a lot to be proud of when it comes to this group of graduates and we gladly salute their achievements and say job well done to their parents, families and friends who have supported them the whole way.

Congratulations to the Class of 2012!

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National