The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

June 5, 2013

Ottumwa is an amazing community

(Continued)

Another reason why gun confiscation is the “line in the sand” for Americans is because gun confiscation is normally followed by massive democide (death by government). The mosters of the 20th century all took the guns before they began the roundups and purges, the gulags and death camps, and the firing up of the crematoriums. It would be the height of naiveté to ignorantly assume that is cannot — and will not — happen here.

Wendell E. Carr

Ottumwa

Use sense

in education

I found it quite ironic that Gov. Branstad chose to publicly sign the new “education reform” bill at Des Moines North High School since the recent great strides at North predate the bill.

North High has shown the amazing things can be accomplished with an innovative and fearless principal who has the support of dedicated teachers. When students and parents see the results, they buy in, too.

It’s a pity that common sense often takes a back seat to complex education proposals that cost too much and don’t directly address the problems.

John Hesling

Oskaloosa

A organization

to be proud of

On May 17, 2013, Marine Sgt. Ross Gundlach is surprisingly reunited with Casey, a 4-year-old golden lab that served with him in Afghanistan. Their duty while in Afghanistan was sweeping roads of the rugged terrain for bombs. Casey and Sgt. Gundlach carried out over 150 missions together, and at some point during their tour Gundlach made a promise to Casey. He told her that “if they made it out alive, he would do whatever it took to find her.” He felt like he owed it to her and that he wanted to “take care of her and give her the best life she could have from then on.”

This amazing reunion wasn’t as easy as it seems ... you see, Casey had been retired from the military and adopted by the State of Iowa Fire Marshal’s Office and stationed in Indianola with a new handler to continue to sniff for bombs. Sgt. Gundlach thought he was at the statehouse in Des Moines to plead his case before a government committee to get Casey back. Much to his surprise, he would be taking Casey home with him that night.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Make Ottumwa Shine offers opportunity We hear a lot of complaints about the condition of our town. Some are justified, others are the kind of carping that happens in any community. But this month shows the difference between those who just want to complain and people who are genuinely in

    May 2, 2014

  • Investing more money in tornado research would be a disaster

    This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed a bill that would require National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration funding to focus on improving forecasts of "high impact weather events" like tornadoes and hurricanes "for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy."

    April 4, 2014

  • 1120 OTT Opinion Reiter bw photo -L A running Start The Great American Smokeout is tomorrow. The American Cancer Society has chosen the third Thursday in November for this annual event to encourage smokers to quit. There are still an estimated 43.8 million cigarette smokers in the U.S. and several mil

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • No Headline Provided

    October 25, 2013

  • Be aware of prostate cancer I am very pleased to see the coverage and interest in breast cancer with October designated as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. There are about 220,000 new cases of breast cancer reported every year, and it is the second-leading cause of cancer deaths

    October 4, 2013

  • Our View Election a chance to move Ottumwa forward Over the past several days, the Courier sat down with each of the candidates for City Council. Among the candidates are some of the best people we've seen step forward in a very long time. We'll endorse candidates for the general election. What we wa

    October 4, 2013

  • Broadband Internet just the beginning I had the opportunity to meet the broadband delegation from Ottumwa who recently toured Steuben County, Ind. As one of the iMAN Fiber Network team members, I can assure you this was an incredible experience for both of our groups. First, as I've lear

    September 14, 2013

  • Request free utility locates using Iowa One Call technology Iowa homeowners who need to dig on their property have free access to an updated technology tool, iTic Lite, available from Iowa One Call, the organization tasked with promoting the message "Call before you dig in Iowa." For their own safety and that

    September 10, 2013

  • Tell us your survivor story The world is filled with stories. Some make front-page news while others get hidden and are never told. Stories of people who overcome obstacles should have a place to make their voices heard. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Courier

    September 6, 2013

  • School board voting will be a little easier Tuesday The League of Women Voters would like to encourage a greater participation by voters in the upcoming election of school board members. It is encouraging to see a larger number of citizens campaigning to serve their community on the school board. I

    September 6, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National