The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

Opinion
  • USSSA tournament a grand success USSSA tournament a grand success Kevin Hatfield approached me back in April about using the adult softball league fields as part of a USSSA Girls State Softball Tournament for June 29-30. I really did not know what to expect but told him we would be

    July 10, 2013

  • More choices needed at the ballot box Help wanted: Willing citizens to run for public office with a desire to help shape a community's or school district's future. Now is the time for Ottumwans and southeast Iowans to consider running for city council or their local school board. In year

    July 10, 2013

  • Preschool good for more than just education A new report shows there's little difference in the test scores of Iowa schoolchildren who attend preschool and those who don't. Interesting, but we hope it's not the impetus for budget-cutting legislators (or the governor's office, for that matter)

    July 3, 2013

  • Thanks for article about health concerns Thank you for the article of June 27 on Advanced Glycation Endproducts and health. Its reference to low temperature cooking reminded me of Viljalmur Stefansson's observation of the low temperature cooking methods he observed while living with the Inu

    July 3, 2013

  • 0703 OTT Opinion Danny Homan -M -L Governor's priorities aren't Iowa's priorities When elected officials make decisions about spending public dollars, they reveal their priorities and values. Gov. Branstad recently completed action on the new state budget by issuing a flurry of item-vetoes. In doing so, he revealed what his true p

    July 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • Support Kent for county recorder Lisa Kent is running for Wapello County Recorder. She has been the deputy recorder for the past 10 1/2 years. She lives in Agency with her husband, Brian, and two sons. She is active in the Agency community and Cardinal schools. She is running for re

    July 3, 2013

  • 'Your destruction will be terrible and final' A recent letter to the editor either states or strongly infers our nation has been brought back to God by the state and fedeal government and courts rulings legalizing, endorsing and subsidizing homosexuality. The letter writer states these actions p

    July 3, 2013

  • Support Kent for county recorder It is my pleasure to be able to write a positive letter of introduction for Democratic candidate for Wapello County Recorder Lisa Kent. I have personally known Lisa for many years and have worked closely with her on various projects in organizations

    June 29, 2013

  • Voter ID laws needed I read the letter to the editor from the president of the League of Women Voters of Ottumwa who said "they try to stay out of politics." She's inferring that the League is nonpartisan. I'm old enough to remember the days when they indeed were. I'm al

    June 29, 2013

  • New 'morality' is the old immorality In response to the letter, "Thank God for renewal." The universe functions under many laws. The law of physics dictates how the sun, planets, etc. operate. The laws of biology control how living things function and the laws of morality determine how

    June 29, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National