The Ottumwa Courier

Opinion

Opinion
  • Riedel-Butler for county recorder There are three women running for the position of Wapello County Recorder. I believe there is only one candidate worth voting for and that is Mary Margaret Riedel-Butler. She has been working within the courthouse for 10-plus years, starting in the W

    June 29, 2013

  • A teachable moment Matt Brindley's "Banning the bafflegab" was, like, hilarious, basically. Write on! I mean, at the end of the day, you'll come up with many of your own but let's not, like, have too much on our plate. I got to thinking about words and what we do with

    June 29, 2013

  • Thank God for renewal Thank God for renewal Throughout the years, many churches have prayed for God's Spirit to bring renewal and revival to the nation. God has answered those prayers many times in the life-giving power of Jesus Christ, who said, "The Spirit of the Lord i

    June 26, 2013

  • Mental health care is needed The recent article about the Ottumwa hospital doctors and staff going to Haiti was a good story. But people in Ottumwa, Wapello County and southeast Iowa who suffer from mental health and/or substance abuse issues do not have some white knight riding

    June 26, 2013

  • A victory for voters On June 17, the U.S. Supreme Court issued a victory for voters when it struck down an Arizona law requiring documentary proof of citizenship when citizens register to vote instead of a written statement. The Court's decision in the case, Arizona v. T

    June 26, 2013

  • Support Kent for county recorder Lisa Kent is seeking the office of Wapello County Recorder. She has been the assistant recorder for 10 1/2 years and has the experience, knowledge and ability to fill the office of recorder. She is always very friendly and helpful when I call or visi

    June 26, 2013

  • Vote for Kent Vote for Lisa Kent on July 9 for Wapello County Recorder. She has 10 1/2 years of experience as assistant county recorder. She has always been able to answer any questions I have when called or been to the recorder's office in a cheerful and helpful

    June 26, 2013

  • 0622 OTT Opinion Judge Lucy Gamon photo -T -L The judge as gatekeeper when the goal is justice "… no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized." Constitution of the United States, Amendment 4 It is 2 a.m. on a dar

    June 22, 2013 1 Photo

  • Iowa food banks get a boost from state budget bill They are stark facts that seem contrary in a state that grows so much food for the world. One in eight Iowans doesn't have enough food to support a healthy lifestyle. One in five children doesn't have enough to eat on a given day. So we're glad and r

    June 19, 2013

  • Why do they lie? Why do people lie like a plumber, telephone repairman or an electrician? You call a plumber to come and fix your drain. They tell you they will be there around 9:30 a.m. You stay at home and wait for them to come. Here it is -- 9:40 a.m. -- no plumbe

    June 19, 2013

Obituaries
Record
Facebook
AP National