The Ottumwa Courier

April 11, 2013

Dabney leads Centerville to title

Courier sports staff
Ottumwa Courier

---- — ALBIA — Meet medalist honors by Logan Dabney led the way to a winning day for the Centerville boys golf team Tuesday at the Albia Invitational. Dabney’s winning round of four-over par 76 led the Big Reds to a team total of 317 and a seven-shot win over the Fairfield Trojans at the Albia Country Club.

Logan beat out brother Blake Dabney for the medalist honors with the Blake sharing runner-up honors with Fairfield’s top golfer. Matthew Carr finished in a tie for second place two shots away from the meet medalist position after firing a six-over par round of 78.

The hosting Blue Demons came in third on their home course with a team round of 351. Joey Sinnott finished with a round of 85 to lead Marty Hermsen’s squad.

”I was happy. I thought my top two would play a little better, but overall I’m pleased with the results,” Hermsen said.

MSAE took fourth with a 373 team total led by Fassad Monk’s 88. Davis County’s Sam McClure finished with a round of 85 to lead the Mustangs to a sixth-place finish with a team round of 388. Moravia finished in seventh with a 416 highlighted by Lane Brewer’s 92 while Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s 438 total was led by Jason Crosby’s 81.

Albia Invitational

At Albia Country Club


Par 72

Team scoring — Centerville 317, Fairfield 324, Albia 351, MSAE 373, Schuyler County 377, Davis County 388, Moravia 416, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 438.

Medalist — Logan Dabney (CENT) 76.

Runner-up — Blake Dabney (CENT) 78, Matthew Carr (F) 78.

Centerville individuals — Alex Moorman 81, Quentin Fowler 82.

Fairfield individuals — Nathan Higgens 79, Joe Hieppas 83, Alex Shier 84.

Albia individuals — Joey Sinnott 85, Griffin Osing 88, Tyler Madison 89, Cy Heffron 89, Drew Schofield 89.

MSAE individuals — Fassad Monk 88, Mickey DeAngelis 89, Davis Titus 95, B. Prather-Huff 101.

Davis County individuals — Sam McClure 85, Sean Miller 100, McKane Wells 100, K.Smith 103.

Moravia individuals — Lane Brewer 92, Jonathan Eastlick 100, Levi Hawk 105, Anthony Waybill 119.

EBF individuals — Jason Crosby 81, A.Lorenz 116, J.Jensen 118, J.Koebke 123.