The Ottumwa Courier

November 25, 2013

Four Blue Demons earn INA 2A First-Team Football honors

Courier sports staff
Ottumwa Courier

---- — OTTUMWA — The historic success of this season for the Albia Blue Demon football team brought was not lost on the entire state of Iowa.

Four members of the first Albia football team to win in the postseason and play on the grand stage of the UNI-Dome by advancing to the Class 2A State Football Semifinals were honored as first-team selections to the Iowa Newspaper Association All-State Football Teams. Seniors Brett Leshen (utility), Zach Hugen (wide receiver) and Dalton Folkerts (defensive line) joined sophomore offensive lineman Nick Yarosky as four of the five members of Jerry Staton's 12-1 Blue Demon squad to earn all-state honors.

Bryce Leshen, the younger brother of first-team pick and starting Albia quarterback Brett, also was named to his first INA All-State team. The sophomore was selected as a third-team linebacker on the Class 2A team.

Davis County had a pair of players selected to the 2A INA All-State football teams. Senior offensive lineman Wayne Doerscher was named a first-team all-state player by the INA while senior defensive lineman Isaac Houghland was named third-team all-state for the Mustangs.

Oskaloosa had three players named INA All-State selections, led by first-team running back Andrew Landgrebe. The senior led all of Class 3A in rushing with 1,760 yards and 25 touchdowns.

Indians' defensive back Nick Rutledge also earned all-state honors as a second-team selection in Class 3A. Senior teammate Brett Kindley was named a third-team all-state offensive lineman.

T.J. Hockenson was the lone all-state selection for Chariton, earning a second-team nod as one of three wide receivers or tight ends selected. Centerville seniors Kolton Gonnerman (wide receiver/tight end) and Gabe Cowan (defensive lineman) also earned third-team 3A all-state honors.

Twin Cedars wide receiver Garret Pettyjohn was named a first team all-stater after producing the only 1,000-yard receiving season in the 8-Man game this season. Brent Parker, the second-leading passer in the state, joined Saber teammate Corey Harrell on the 8-Man All-State second team while Hunter Embray made it four Twin Cedars' seniors to earn all-state honors with a third-team selection at linebacker.

Seniors Eric Adam and Jared Bond were both named to the second-team of Class A's INA All-State team. Adam, a recent Iowa Bankers Association scholarship winner, was named to the offensive line of the second team while Bond earned a spot as a defensive lineman.

Only one area player was named to a Class 1A INA All-State team. Cardinal senior Nathan Yeager, who set a school record for tackles in a season with 135, earned a third-team selection as an all-state linebacker.