The Ottumwa Courier

January 7, 2014

Area wrestlers compete at Van Buren Invitational

Courier correspondent

---- — KEOSAUQUA — Van Buren finished fifth at its home invitational on Saturday. Kirksville, Mo., crowned six champions and easily won the team title with 225 while Sigourney-Keota finished second as a team with 161 points.

Two area grapplers went toe-to-toe in the 220-pound championship match. S-K’s Tucker Fowler made short work of Van Buren’s Dalton Brombaugh, winning the final by fall in just 35 seconds.

Also wrestling for a championship for Van Buren in his weight class was Mitch Garrels at 195. Garrels lost by fall to Kirksville’s Makenna Cook in the final.

Other area action from Saturday’s Van Buren Invite included a tight contest in the 113-pound final between two area grapplers that placed at state last year. Moravia’s Briar Cochran outlasted Cardinal’s Ryan Cale, winning 8-6 in one of the featured matches of the day.

Davis County’s Kody Smith came home as a champion at Van Buren, beating West Burlington-Notre Dame/Danville’s Bryon McCannon by fall in the second period to win the 120-pound title. The Mustangs finished third as a team with 123.5 points, besting Moravia for the position as the Mohawks finished fourth with 92 points.

Jeremiah Green, Nathan Fritz and Lane Boender joined Fowler as Savage Cobra grapplers to earn individual titles on Saturday with the S-K trio sweeping the 132, 138 and 145-pound crowns, respectively. Davis County’s Slenser Bassett scored a fall over Cardinal’s Tyler Albert at 160 pounds to join Smith as a Van Buren Invite champ. Cardinal, meanwhile, finished ninth as a team with 46 points.


2014 Van Buren Invitational

Team standings: 1. Kirksville 225, 2. Sigourney-Keota 161, 3. Davis County 126.5, 4. Moravia 92, 5. Van Buren 62.5, 6. Kirksville JV3 60, 7. Burlington JV 58, 8. WB/ND/DAN 57, 9. Cardinal 46, 10. Kirksville JV2 31, 11. WACO 30, 12. Kirksville JV1 7

Individual Placewinners and Results

106-1. Hayden Hamlin, Kirksville, won by decision (8-4); 2. Daylen Fenton, Moravia; 3. Drayton Hamm, Cardinal, won by decision (13-6); 4. Nathan Vest, Sigourney-Keota

113-1. Briar Cochran, Moravia, won by decision (8-6); 2. Ryan Cale, Cardinal; 3. Tyler Runyon, Van Buren, won by fall; 4. Dravin Lewis, WB/ND/DAN

120-1. Kody Smith, Davis County, won by fall (2:45); 2. Bryon Mccannon, WB/ND/DAN; 3. Allen George, Kirksville, won by fall (1:40); 4. Matt Messer, Burlington JV; 5. Kenan Nazli, Van Buren, won by fall (2:31); 6. Zane Baty, Moravia

126-1. Ethan Rentschler, Kirksville, won by decision (5); 2. Tristan Garcia, WB/ND/DAN; 3. Walker Henderson, Davis County, won by fall (0:30); 4. Dallas Price, Moravia; 5. Thayne Runyon, Van Buren, won by fall (1:21); 6. William Krause, Kirksville, JV1

132-1. Jeremiah Green, Sigourney, won by decision (12); 2. Tanner Sparks, Kirksville; 3. Dylan Willey, WB/ND/DAN, won by decision (7-4); 4. Breenan Creelman, Burlington; 5. Jake Martin, Moravia, won by fall (2:29) 6. Colt Crane, Van Buren

138-1. Nathan Fritz, Sigourney-Keota, won by decision; 2. Branden Beeler, Kirksville; 3. Jacob Heisel, Van Buren, won by fall (1:05); 4. Luke Shipley, WB/ND/DAN; 5. Denver Ross, Burlington JV, won by fall (1:08); 6. Steven Trexel, WB/ND/D, JV2

145-1. Lane Boender, Sigourney, won by fall (1:21); 2. Kale Baird, Davis County; 3. Spencer Sherwood, won by fall (:33); 4. Noah Reeves, Sigourney, JV3; 5. John Giovannini, Kirksville, won by T fall (18-2); 6. Colton Putnam, Van Buren

152-1. Marshall Cook, Kirksville, (Major 10-2); 2. Dylan Henderson, Davis County; 3. Gage Greiner, Sigourney, JV3, won by decision (10-6); 4. Gunner Miller, Moravia; 5. Adam Deregnier, Sigourney, won by fall (2:27); 6. Sam Dickinson, Van Buren

160-1. Slenser Bassett, Davis County, won by fall; 2. Tyler Albert, Cardinal; 3. Matt Kelly, Kirksville, won by fall; 4. Noah Boender, Sigourney, JV3; 5. Dorian Sneddon, Kirksville, JV2, won by fall (3:58); 6. Ty Stockwell, Van Buren

170-1. Cey Saeugling, WACO, won by fall (1:22); 2. Cole Streigle, Sigourney-Keota; 3. Wyatt Giffel, Kirksville, won by decision (13-7); 4. Alex Cloyed, Moravia; 5. Brad Johnson, Davis County, won by fall (1:43); 6. Tanner Bos, Sigourney, JV3

182-1. Kylan Easley, Kirksville, won by fall (1:22); 2. Josh Ramos, Cardinal; 3. Noah Schuster, Sigourney, won by fall (3:54); 4. Zeb Webb, Sigourney, JV2; 5. Tyler Knapp, Moravia, won by fall (2:38); 6. Broc Garlow, Burlington JV

195-1.Makenna Cook, Kirksville, won by fall (:41); 2. Mitch Garrells, Van Buren; 3. Chase Tremmel, Sigourney, won by fall (:55); 4. Quinton Casteel, Moravia; 5. Damon Wagner, WB/ND/DAN

220-1. Tucker Fowler, Sigourney, won by fall (:35); 2. Dalton Brombaugh, Van Buren

285-1. Ivan Mcvay, Kirksville, won by fall (3:01); 2. Ben Kincart, Davis County; 3. Bryce Brown, Sigourney, won by decision (11-6); 4. Colby Steel, Kirksville, JV3; 5. Josh Shumaker, WACO, won by fall (5:12); 6. Logan Gibson-Kirksville, JV2