The Ottumwa Courier


November 22, 2011

Several selected to all-state teams

OTTUMWA — The Iowa Newspaper Association (INA) announced its 2011 All-State Football selections Tuesday, naming honorary captains in classes A, 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A and Eight-Player. Three teams were named in each class.

The Des Moines Register released its all-state football first and second team selections on Sunday.

Two area offensive linemen were first-team selections on both lists. Davis County senior Will Kincart and Albia senior Trevor Thompson were Class 2A first-team selections for both the Iowa Newspaper Association and the Des Moines Register.

Second team selections included Ottumwa senior Ben Kramer, who was named to the Class 4A second team as a defensive back by the Des Moines Register.

In Class 3A, the INA selected Fairfield senior Cody Kool as a second-team offensive lineman, while Oskaloosa senior running back Adam Rowley was named the INA third team. Rowley was a second-team selection by the Des Moines Register.

Davis County senior tight end Calvin Mathews and Albia senior running back Cole Spurgin were both named to the INA second team in Class 2A, while Davis County senior offensive lineman Colton Bogs was a Class 2A third-team selection. Mathews was also a second-team selection by the Des Moines Register. Albia senior defensive lineman Austin Summers was named to the Class 2A third team, as was Albia linebacker Aaron Henderson.

Eddyville-Blakesburg junior punter Isaac McKee was a third-team selection in Class 2A.

In Class 1A, Pekin junior running back Quentin Garrels was a second-team selection while senior offensive lineman Derek Morales was a third-team selection.

Three area athletes in the Eight-Player class were selected by the Des Moines Register. Seymour senior receiver Trevor Sherrard was a first-team selection while Moravia senior running back Tyler McDanel and Tri-County senior offensive lineman William Corrick were both second-team selections by the Register.

Iowa Newspaper Association captains were Barkley Hill of Cedar Falls (4A), Wesley Burnside of Union, La Porte City (3A), West Marshall’s Dalton Ferch (2A), Saint Ansgar’s John Sievert (1A), Ben Knake of Lisbon (A) and Nate Meier of Fremont-Mills (Eight-Player). The six team captains will be in the running for the Second Annual Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award presented by the Iowa Newspaper Association. The award recognizes a high school football player who has demonstrated excellent performance on the football field and exemplary character in all aspects of life and will be presented in the spring.

Text Only
  • 0419 OTT Sports Hogue and McKay photo Big day for Hogue, McKay By KEVIN PINK IHCC Information Department Former IHCC teammates take part in ISU's big day at State Capitol Big day for Hogue, McKay

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0419 OTT Sports Ashley Salgado photo Former OHS star Salgado signs with Converse College OTTUMWA -- Former Ottumwa star athlete Ashley Salgado has signed her National Letter of Intent to play women's basketball at Converse College, a NCAA Division II institution in Spartansburg, SC. Salgado played two seasons at Marshalltown Community Co

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0419 OTT Sports IHCC baseball photo Falcons remain in first after sweep at Muscatine MUSCATINE — Friday provided the first-place Indian Hills baseball team with two very different games at Muscatine. Fortunately for the Falcons, the results were the same. IHCC remained tied atop the region with Iowa Western after sweeping the first t

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0419 OTT Sports IHCC golf photo Warrior golfers boast big lead at Illinois invite SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — After one round, the Indian Hills men's golf team boasts a 15-stroke lead in the Blue Boy Invitational Friday with a score of 296 strokes. Jakob Garstecki spearheaded the Warriors' success by firing the top score of the day at 72

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0419 OTT Sports softball color photo Warriors suffer sophomore day sweep to Southeastern OTTUMWA — Jim Overturf has been coaching junior college softball for over two decades. In that time, Overturf has seen over two decades worth of days dedicated to celebrating a departing class of sophomore players. In his experience, Overturf has see

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Albia boys have record-setting night at Waukee WAUKEE — Alex Schultz turned in a pair of outstanding performances at what ended up being a record-setting night for the Albia boys track and field team at the Waukee Invitational. Competing as the lone Class 2A school against some elite competition,

    April 18, 2014

  • 0419 OTT Sports Ottuwa Conference photo Ottumwa AD talks about possible conference change OTTUMWA — Tom Kopatich has plenty of experience with the Southeast Conference. Kopatich, the athletic director for Ottumwa High School, coached the Ottumwa football team when the Bulldogs belonged to the conference. So what does he think about a pos

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • On Tap Saturday Boys Soccer Ottumwa at Waterloo West Invitational, 9 a.m. Oskaloosa at Winterset Tournament, 10 a.m. College Golf Indian Hills at Buena Vista Spring Invitational (Storm Lake) College Baseball Indian Hills at Muscatine (DH), Noon College Softball Indi

    April 18, 2014

  • Ottumwa boys track ties for seventh in Urbandale URBANDALE — The Ottumwa boys track and field team tied for seventh place with Des Moines North at the Chuck Silvey Invitational at Urbandale Thursday with 11 points. The Bulldog boys 4x400 team of Roger Cruz, Matt Moreland, Jalen Strunk and Osha Wyl

    April 18, 2014

  • Clarification Clarification: The Ottumwa boys tennis team competes at 2 p.m. Tuesday at Dan Staggs Courts against Ankeny.

    April 18, 2014

NCAA Tournament Scoreboard
Sports photo reprints