The Ottumwa Courier

May 14, 2014

Ottumwa athletes recognized at 'A' Club Banquet

Courier Sports Writer

---- — OTTUMWA — Conner Mier and Megan Black were named senior outstanding athletes of the year Tuesday at the Honors Banquet put on by the Ottumwa "A" Club at Ottumwa High School.

The two Bulldogs, however, were far from the only ones to have their admirable work on and off the field acknowledged and honored Tuesday evening. The celebratory night was brimming with scholarships and awards given out to well-deserving Bulldog athletes and their supporters.

Titus Weller and Black received the Tony Bishop Memorial Scholarship and Kathy Lopez was given the Eric Wertheim Scholarship for females. In addition, Guillermo Trejo, Isaias Santos and Misael Perez received the Eric Wertheim scholarship for males. The John Link Memorial Award — which goes to seniors with a 4.0 and an earned letter — went to a plethora of Bulldogs including Andrina Helgerson, Emily Bittner, Cassie Jaegers, Jennifer Klodt, Black, Chloe Dirksen, Ginny Kjer, Nick Sedore and Titus Weller.

Meanwhile, Klodt, Levi Cobler and Cole Eklund won the Hicks Memorial Award, Chris Peden received the Bernie Saggau Award and Black and Josh Hudnut took home the Bernstein Memorial Scholarship.

Volunteer workers who selflessly devoted time their time to improving and maintaining Ottumwa's sports programs also were recognized for their efforts. The Gene Schultz Volunteer Award went to Kim Ardueser and the Howard Eslinger Award went to Pam Mier.

Ottumwa "A" Club Honors Banquet Awards

Outstanding Senior Athletes of the Year

Male — Conner Mier

Female — Megan Black

Hicks Memorial Awards

Male — Levi Cobler and Cole Eklund

Female — Jennifer Klodt

Bernie Saggau Award — Chris Peden

Bernstein Memorial Scholarships

Male — Josh Hudnut

Female — Megan Black

Eric Wertheim Scholarships

Males — Isaias Santos, Guillermo Trejo, Misael Perez

Female -- Kathy Lopez

John Link Memorial Awards

Males — Nick Sedore, Titus Weller

Females — Andrina Helgerson, Emily Bittner, Cassie Jaegers, Jennifer Klodt, Chloe Dirksen, Ginny Kjer.

Tony Bishop Memorial

Male — Titus Weller

Females — Megan Black

Gene Schultz Volunteer Award — Kim Ardueser

Howard Eslinger Vounteer Award — Pam Mier


To follow Andy Heintz’s Twitter feed, go to @CourierAndy.