The Ottumwa Courier


May 16, 2013

IHCC 16th, 13 shots down after Day 1


"Kevin's start obviously helped, and we started to make a little bit of a run to get to third, then the wheels just came off," Hagen said. "The wind really started to pick up, and we did not handle it well at all."

Indian Hills has little time to dwell on the disappointing day after finishing at around 9 p.m. This morning's 7:30 a.m. tee off means the Warriors have to be ready to hit The Rawls Course with a short memory if they hope for a big bounce-back round.

"We're just kind of beside ourselves, and the thing is we have to turn right back around and get back on the course," Hagen said. "We have to put this behind us and we have to put up something low early on, then head back to hotel and hope the winds pick up again on those guys going out later."

"It's not make or break. We could make up 13 shots in one round. We are more likely going to have to chip away at it. We need to put ourselves in a better position over the next three rounds to get this done."


NJCAA Division I Men's National Golf Tournament

First Round

At The Rawls Course, Lubbock


Par 72

Team scoring — T1. Midland 291, T1. Odessa 291, 3. McLennan 294, T4. Iowa Western 295, T4. Scottsdale 295, 6. Johnson County 296, 7. USC-Lancaster 297, 8. Wallace State 298, T9. Central Alabama 299, T9. Brevard 299, 11. Darton 300, T12. Garden City 302, T12. Hutchinson 302, T14. New Mexico Junior College 303, T14. Wake Tech 303, 16. Indian Hills 304, 17. Eastern Arizona 306, T18. Meridian 307, T18. Dodge City 307, T18. Faulkner State 307, T18. Western Texas 307, T22. North Idaho 309, T22. Pima 309, 24. Trinidad State 317.

Leader — Chandler McDonald (USC-Lancaster) 68.

Second — Alex Forristal (Johnson County) 69.

IHCC individuals — T27. William White 74, T36. Connor Peck 75, T53. Kevin Workman 76, T91. Mitch Tucker 79, T106. Ben Ludlam 80.

Text Only
  • 0729 OTT Sports Steven Wilson mug Three Bulldogs chosen for all-district team OTTUMWA — Three Ottumwa Bulldogs and a slew of Twin Cedars players were selected for their respective Iowa High School All-District teams. The players named to all-district squads were chosen by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association. Th

    July 28, 2014 3 Photos

  • 0729 OTT Sports Rylee Eakins photo New recruits bolster hopes for IHCC volleyball OTTUMWA — Indian Hills Community College volleyball coach Lyndsey Lyon feels confident she has an incoming recruiting class that will shore up some of the deficiencies of last year’s squad. Lyon has announced the addition of eight former Iowa high s

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • 0729 OTT Sports Scott Watson mug Sprint Speedweek starts Thursday on Knoxville

    Hello race fans and welcome to The Pit Stop. Thursday night kicks off the 13th Annual Cox Design Iowa Speedweek for Sprint Cars, where there are nine nights of Sprint Car racing over 10 days scheduled between The Knoxville Raceway and The Southern Io

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0729 OTT Sports Fairfield baseball photo Fairfield set for first state baseball game in 35 years FAIRFIELD — There have been a lot of good teams and a lot of good players that have worn Fairfield baseball uniforms since 1979. None of them, however, experienced what Narendra Martin, Joseph Hietpas and rest of the young men that wore Trojan black

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • 2014 Iowa High School State Softball Tournament Monday, July 21 Class 3A Quarterfinals No. 2 East Marshall 4, Mid-Prairie 3 No. 9 Bondurant-Farrar 9, No. 13 West Burlington/Notre Dame 4 No. 3 Clarke 13, Spirit Lake 0 (3) Greene County 2, No. 6 Center Point-Urbana 0 Class 4A Quarterfinals No. 1 Dal

    July 28, 2014

  • 0729 OTT Sports Little League State Final photo Late-game scoring sends Sioux City to regionals CENTERVILLE — Grandview and Sioux City Headid battled back-and-forth through periodic rain showers Saturday in the state title game. In the end, it was Sioux City who emerged victorious after coming back from a 4-0 deficit. Sioux City’s Cael Boever w

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Iowa High School State Baseball Tournament Saturday Class 1A Quarterfinals No. 1 Twin Cedars 7, Underwood 0 Tuesday Class 3A Quarterfinals No. 5 Fairfield (30-7) vs. Dallas Center-Grimes (22-14), 8 p.m. (95.9 FM KKFD) Thusday Class 1A Semifinals No. 1 Twin Cedars (34-0) vs. No. 5 Gehlen Cat

    July 28, 2014

  • 0729 OTT Sports Twin Cedars pitcher photo Perfect Start! DES MOINES – It didn’t take long for Corey Harrell to make an impact at the 2014 Iowa High School State Baseball Tournament. It took even less time for Harrell to double his impact for the unbeaten Twin Cedars Sabers. Harrell broke the seal on the th

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • On Tap Tuesday Prep Baseball Class 3A State Quarterfinals Fairfield vs. Dallas Center-Grimes at Des Moines (Principal Park), 8 p.m.

    July 28, 2014

  • 2014 Iowa High School State Softball Tournament 2014 Iowa High School State Softball TournamentAt Harlan Rogers ParkFort DodgeMonday, July 21Class 3A QuarterfinalsNo. 2 East Marshall 4, Mid-Prairie 3No. 9 Bondurant-Farrar 9, No. 13 West Burlington/Notre Dame 4No. 3 Clarke 13, Spirit Lake 0 (3)Gree

    July 26, 2014

Sports photo reprints