The Ottumwa Courier

January 4, 2013

AREA WRESTLING ACTION: Rocket wrestlers roll to a pair of dual wins

Ottumwa Courier

SAYDEL — The holiday break did little to slow down the Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont wrestling team. EBF, ranked second in the Class 1A predicament and third in the state dual ratings, easily picked up two more dual victories with a 56-24 win over Carlisle and 56-18 victory over Saydel on Thursday.

The Rockets overcame early deficits in both duals, erasing an 18-12 deficit against Carlisle by winning five straight matches and eight of the final nine. Top-ranked sophomore Blake Marlof (13-0) got the ball rolling for EBF, scoring a pin in 92 seconds over Vinny Wilcox as the Rockets picked up four falls and a 20-5 tech fall by ninth-ranked Tucker Black (14-1) at 145 to open a 41-18 lead.

Another one of the Rockets returning rated state qualifiers, Jeren Glosser, sparked EBF against Saydel to their ninth straight dual win. The fifth-rated senior picked up a 120-pound win with his second pin of the night, downing Grant Sherman in 74 seconds to put the Rockets ahead 15-12. Fifth-ranked Jason Crosby added his second pin of the night against Brody Harrison at 138 to extend another 29-point run.

No. 3 EBF (9-0) joins South Central Conference rival Centerville as part of the field at Benton’s Bobcat Jerry Eckenrod Invitational on Saturday.

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 56, Carlisle 24

106 — Anthony Rea (Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont) won by forfeit. 113 — Kristal Williams (Carlisle) won by forfeit. 120 — Jeren Glosser (EBF) won by fall at 2:12 over Brandon Avilla (C). 126 — Kenny McCaughey (C) won by forfeit. 132 — Blake Marlof (EBF) won by fall at 1:32 over Vinny Wilcox (C). 138 — Jason Crosby (EBF) won by fall over Kyle Rees (C) at 3:20. 145 — Tucker Black (EBF) won by tech fall at 5:04 over Chance Becker (C) 20-5. 152 — Treg Van Dorin (EBF) won by fall at 1:14 over Eric Coleman (C). 160 — Bret Wursta (EBF) won by fall at 4:45 over Zethan Wyckoff (C). 170 — Damon Platt (C) won by fall at 4:50 over Colton Snakenberg (EBF). 182 — Dillon Pigsley (EBF) won by fall at 3:40 over Nathan Stickley (C). 195 — Jayce Riley (EBF) won by dec. over Anthony Hansen (C) 5-2. 220 — Hunter Johnston (EBF) won by fall at 4:42 over Joey Hinds (C). HWT — Ben Burnett (C) won by fall at 5:40 over Chance Wurstra (EBF).

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 56, Saydel 18

106 — Justin Roespch (Saydel) won by fall at 1:06 over Rea (EBF). 113 — Cory Hardin (S) won by forfeit. 120 —  Glosser (EBF) won by fall at 1:14 over Grant Sherman (S). 126 — Double Forfeit. 132 — Marlof (EBF) won by forfeit. 138 — Crosby (EBF) won by fall at 1:27 over Brody Harrison (S). 145 — Black (EBF) won by tech fall at 5:04 over Dylan Coffin (S) 20-3. 152 — B. Wursta (EBF) won by forfeit. 160 — Jake Sherman (S) won by fall at 1:32 over Van Dorin (EBF) at 1:32. 170 — Snakenberg (EBF) won by forfeit. 182 — Pigsley (EBF) won by forfeit. 195 — Riley (EBF) won by forfeit. 220 — Johnston (EBF) won by dec. over Tyler Stocker (S) 9-2. HWT — C. Wursta (EBF) won by fall at 2:20 over Michael Durnell (S).

Davis County, Pekin score wins over Comets

PEKIN – Both Davis County and Pekin scored wins in their returns to the mat in 2013 on Thursday. The Mustangs picked up a 64-12 win over Cardinal while the Panthers won 45-7 over the Comets.

Ryan Cale and Josh Ramos scored Cardinal’s only two wins against the Mustangs as Cale pinned Travis Morton in 1:07 at 113 pounds while Ramos received an injury default win at 182 against Nathan Vaugh. Cale also scored a 14-1 major decision against Pekin’s Brandon Baayen while 106-pounder Drayton Hamm earned an 11-9 overtime decision for the Comets over the Panthers’ Clayton McKim.

Pekin got pins against Cardinal from Scott Entsminger at 152 pounds and from Austyn Vogel at 145. Walker Henderson (106) and Spencer Bassett (152) both scored pins for Davis County in their victory over the Comets.

No score was reported from the dual between Pekin and Davis County. Davis County (5-5) and Cardinal (0-10) head to the Van Buren Invitational on Saturday while Pekin (5-3) heads to the PCM Invite.

TCM wins two of three at Highland

HIGHLAND — Mitch Gibson, Colton Maschmann, Tyler Foubert and Jacob Weber each scored a pair of pins as Tri-County/Montezuma returned to the mats Thursday night in Highland. The Trojans scored a pair of dual wins, besting Highland 40-30 and West Burlington/Notre Dame 42-36 before falling to Wapello 39-30.

Gibson put TCM on top of Highland for good midway through their dual with the hosting Huskies. The junior scored a fall over Austin McCarthy in 52 seconds in the 138-pound match to put the Trojans up 22-18. Colton Maschman added a fall at 1:13 over Josh Kasparek to pad the lead.

TCM scored pins in seven of the first 10 matches to edge out West Burlington/Notre Dame by six. Jacob Weber’s fall at 1:35 against Nick Neese at 182 gave the Trojans the final margin of victory.

TCM (9-3) heads back to Highland for the Huskies home tournament on Saturday.

Tri-County/Montezuma 40, Highland 30

106 — Travis Lewis (TCM) won by forfeit. 113 — Conner Owens (TCM) won by forfeit. 120 — Dylan Durr (TCM) won by maj. dec. over Zach Kleopfer (Highland) 10-1. 126 — Travis Cole (H) won by fall at 1:34 over Zach Kitzman (TCM). 132 — Kody Wood (H) won by fall at 1:10 over Ryan Maschmann (TCM). 138 — Mitch Gibson (TCM) won by fall at :52 over Austin McCarthy (H). 145 — Colton Maschman (TCM) won by fall at 1:13 over Josh Kasparek (H). 152 — Casey Castillo (H) won by forfeit. 160 — Tyler Foubert (TCM) won by fall at 1:10 over Derrick Stewart (H). 170 — Colton Schneider (H) won by forfeit. 182 — Jacob Weber (TCM) won by forfeit. 195 — Double Forfeit. 220 — Double Forfeit. HWT — Devin Mapp (H) won by forfeit.

Tri-County/Montezuma 42, West Burlington/Notre Dame 36

106 — Parker Pfeiff (WBND) won by fall at :40 over Lewis (TCM). 113 — Durr (TCM) won by fall at :22 over Andrew Hastings (WBND). 120 — Tristan Garcia (WBND) won by fall at 4:34 over Skyler Romberg (TCM). 126 — Zach Kitzman (TCM) won by fall at 1:05 over Noah Graham (WBND). 132 — R. Maschmann (TCM) won by fall at 1:20 over Steven Trexel (WBND). 138 — Gibson (TCM) won by fall at :45 over Ian Prickett (WBND). 145 — C. Maschmann (TCM) won by fall at :59 over Tim Williams (WBND). 152 — Jaden Poole (WBND) won by forfeit. 160 — Foubert (TCM) won by fall at :31 over Brock Dowell (WBND). 170 — Tyler McElderry (WBND) won by forfeit. 182 — Weber (TCM) won by fall at 1:35 over Nick Neese (WBND). 195 — Double Forfeit. 220 — Sam Banks (WBND) won by forfeit. HWT — Kaleb Nevers (WBND) won by forfeit.

Wapello 39, Tri-County/Montezuma 30

106 — Lewis (TCM) won by forfeit. 113 — Jack Walker (Wapello) won by dec. over Durr (TCM) 8-1. 120 — Romberg (TCM) won by fall at 1:30 over Paul Johnson (W). 126 — Ruger McNeil (W) won by fall at 1:45 over Kitzman (TCM). 132 — Logan Grimm (W) won by fall at 1:46 over R. Maschmann (TCM). 138 — Gibson (TCM) won by forfeit. 145 — Double Forfeit. 152 — Nathan Boyer (W) won by fall at 2:56 over C. Maschmann (TCM). 160 — Foubert (TCM) won by forfeit. 170 — Double Forfeit. 182 — Weber (TCM) won by fall at 1:43 over Justin Frank (W). 195 — Logan Freitag (W) won by forfeit. 220 — Ryley Howell (W) won by forfeit. HWT — Cody Robbins (W) won by forfeit.