The Ottumwa Courier


February 14, 2013


State Wrestling Meet At Wells-Fargo Arena, Des Moines (Thursday’s Match Results, Friday’s opponent if applicable and available.)




 138 — Karsten Van Velsor, SR, WON by maj. dec. 11-2  over Jason Wallace, Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson, SO. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Andrew Steiert (Waverly-Shell Rock).

 HWT — Kevin Childs, SR, LOST by dec. 3-0 Cegan Long, North Scott, SR. LOST by fall 1:01 to William Hurt, Newton, SR. DONE.


 120 — Nate Caves, JR, WON by fall 3:31 to Kole Evans, Fort Dodge, JR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Alijah Jeffery (Glenwood).

 160 — Cody Jones, SO, LOST major dec. 10-0 to Morgan Hall, Epworth Western Dubuque, SR. WON dec. 7-6 over Dakota Digmann, Linn-Mar, Marion, Sr. NEXT: Consolations today vs. TBA.

 170 — Andrew Landgrebe, JR, WON dec. 6-4 in 1 OT over Joe Teague, Algona, SO. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Cameron Rathje (Cedar Rapids Prairie).

 195 — Dane Jones, SR, WON dec. 8-6 in 1 OT over Casey Becker, Cedar Rapids Prairie, SR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Riley Prescott (Fort Dodge).  

Class 2A


120 – Shadow Leshen, JR, won dec. 6-5 over Dylan Beaver, Benton, SO. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Blake Luna (Clarinda).

126 – Bryce Leshen, FR, won dec. 3-1 over  Caleb Studebaker, Independence. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Austin Hoeft (Charles City).

145 – Dalton Folkerts, JR, won dec. 10-3 over Landon Schuessler, North Polk, JR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Chase Straw (Independence).

152 – Griffin Osing, JR, won dec. 1-0 over Nick Georgean, Davenport Assumption, SR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Bret Tomoson (Sergeant Bluff Luton).

160 – Brett Leshen, JR, won dec. 1-0 over Colin Baker, Osage, SR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Logan McQuillen (Monticello).

HWT – Zach Davis, SR, LOST by fall 5:02 to Ben Burnett, Carlisle, SR. LOST decision 4-0 to Dylan Hendricks, Humboldt, JR. DONE.


126 – Tanner Cowan, SR, won dec. 7-1 over Adam Benzing, Waukon, SO. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Kyle White (Central Springs).

132 – Bradley Irwin, SO, lost fall 3:50 to Jordan Challen, Greene County, SO. Lost fall 3:45 to Aaron Schultz (Williamsburg). DONE.

195 – Riley Denny, SR, won fall 1:54 over Cale Stork, Harlan, JR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Lance Evans (Solon).


132 – Tanner Poush, JR, lost maj dec 8-0 to Colton McCrystal, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, SR. Won by fall 3:33 over Tad Chapin (Denver-Tripoli. NEXT: Consolations today vs. TBA.

138 – Tyler Nance, JR, lost fall 1:33 to Zach Skopec, Spirit Lake, JR. Lost tech. fall 17-2 to Steven Garcia (Sergeant Bluff-Luton) DONE.

182 – Carter Isley, FR, won dec. 6-0 over Ries Bohr, Dubuque Walhert, JR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Steven Holloway (Mediapolis).


170 — Seth Davisson, SR, won fall 4:55 over Schylar Knoll, Perry, JR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Brice Wilcke (CLARKE).

220 — Jacob Minert, SR, won maj. dec. 11-3 over Aaron Beaman, Greene County, SR. NEXT: Quarterfinals today vs. Tyler Dolieslager (Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley).

Davis County

113 – Kody Smith, JR, lost tech. fall 17-2 to Johnny Etherington, Charles City, SO. Lost dec. 10-9 to Chris Hopkins, Harlan. DONE.

Text Only
  • Little League Baseball and Softball Tournaments 9/10-Year-Old Iowa State Little League Baseball Tournament (At Boone National Little League Fields) Standings W L Runs Allowed Grandview 2 0 7 Urbandale 2 0 11 Davenport Northwest 1 0 7 Ottumwa Mi

    July 22, 2014

  • State Softball Tournament Monday Class 4A Quarterfinals No. 4 Carlisle 7, No. 13 Oskaloosa 2 Tuesday Class 2A Quarterfinals No. 5 Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont (24-5) vs. No. 15 Alburnett (26-12), 3:30 p.m. (96.7 FM KIIC, 104.9 FM KBOE)

    July 22, 2014

  • Area Prep Baseball Scores Saturday Class 2A, District 13 Finals Albia 6, Davis County 0 Class 1A, District 10 Finals Burlington-Notre Dame 7, No. 3 Van Buren 6 Class 1A, District 11 Finals North Mahaska 5, Pekin 0 Class 1A, District 12 Finals No. 1 Twin Cedars 2, Pleasantvill

    July 22, 2014

  • 2014 Iowa High School State Softball Tournament Monday, July 21 Class 3A Quarterfinals No. 2 East Marshall 4, Mid-Prairie 3 No. 9 Bondurant-Farrar 9, No. 13 West Burlington/Notre Dame 4 No. 3 Clarke 13, Spirit Lake 0 (3) Greene County 2, No. 6 Center Point-Urbana 0 Class 4A Quarterfinals No. 1 Dal

    July 21, 2014

  • Fifth-ranked Trojans walk off with district title FAIRFIELD — Kooper Dahlstrom’s sharp ground ball to short got past the Oskaloosa defense, allowing Mason Ellis to score his third run of the night as the fifth-ranked Fairfield baseball team survived a wild Class 3A, District 11 final on Monday, 5-4,

    July 21, 2014

  • 0722 OTT Sports Oskaloosa softball photo Carlisle spoils Osky's state softball debut FORT DODGE – Gabby Schnathorst threw a six-hitter in the pitching circle and Shyanne DuBois drove in three runs as fourth-ranked Carlisle, the Class 4A State Softball runner-up last year, spoiled the state tournament debut for the 13th-ranked Oskaloo

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ottumwa Midwest beats Mahaska Co. at Little League State Tourney BOONE — The Ottumwa Midwest Allstars and Mahaska County American little league baseball teams exchanged the lead five times on Sunday, but Ottumwa ended up on top with a 7-6 win in six innings at the 9-10 Year-Old Little League State Baseball Tournam

    July 21, 2014

  • Grandview, Johnston jump to 2-0 start CENTERVILLE — Grandview and Johnston American are the only teams left undefeated after two days of the Iowa Little League State Baseball Tournament are in the books. Johnston American began the tournament with a 5-4 win over Appanoose County and beat

    July 21, 2014

  • Monroe County Little League softball gets first regional win INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA — Three first-inning runs helped the Monroe County Softball Little League team earn its first victory in Central Region play on Monday as the southern Iowa squad won 5-3 over Nebraska's Keystone Little League at Ferguson Field o

    July 21, 2014

  • 0722 OTT Sports Ashlyn Thompson mug Bulldogs named to all-district team

    OTTUMWA — A plethora of softball players in the area were named to Iowa Girls Coaches Association's All-District teams. Ashlyn Thompson and Kassidi Henderson were both named to the Class 5A West All-District team. Thompson had an exemplary season sta

    July 21, 2014 2 Photos

Sports photo reprints