CENTERVILLE — Republicans, including one incumbent, will hold all three seats on the Appanoose County Board of Supervisors again.

Incumbent Linda Demry won re-election to her seat. Mark McGill, who had defeated current member Neal Smith in the June Primary, was also elected to a four-year term on the board.

Republican Jeff Kulmatycki won election to a two-year term to finish out the one vacated by Republican Mark Waits, who resigned from the board in August due to a move out of the area.

The results reported Tuesday night are unofficial until they are canvassed on Nov. 9.

McGill tallied 3,465 votes and Demry received 3,061. They were challenged by two Democrats, Dr. Richard Burger and Kristopher Hoffman. Burger received 2,559 votes and Hoffman received 1,623.

Kulmatycki received 4,057 votes, more than Democratic challenger Jim Schweizer who received 1,990 votes.

Only 197 absentee ballots were requested but not returned in Appanoose County. If they were postmarked by Nov. 2 and received by Nov. 9, or if they were returned in-person today, they can still count.

The other major races in Appanoose County — Auditor and Sheriff — were both uncontested. Republican Auditor Kelly Howard and Republican Sheriff Gary Anderson both claimed re-election.

The race for President comes down to battleground states outside of Iowa. Appanoose County preferred Republican President Donald Trump over Democratic challenger Joe Biden by 40 percentage points. In Appanoose County, Trump received 4,507 votes to Biden's 1,889. The Associated Press called Iowa for Trump.

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, won re-election in Iowa. In Appanoose County, voters preferred Ernst. She received 4,186 votes in the county, compared to her Democratic challenger Theresa Greenfield, who tallied 1,964 votes.

The race for the U.S. House District 2 seat left vacant by Dave Loebsack's retirement was too close to call Wednesday. In Appanoose County, Republican Mariannette Miller-Meeks received 3,892 votes to Democratic challenger Rita Hart's 1,905. The unofficial vote tally has Miller-Meeks ahead of Hart by 282 vote margin, but thousands of potential absentee ballots could still be counted if they are returned by Nov. 9 and postmarked by Nov. 2.

Kyle Ocker is the group editor of the Ottumwa Courier and the Oskaloosa Herald. He can be reached at Follow him on Twitter @Kyle_Ocker.

Trending Video

Kyle Ocker is a Centerville native and award-winning multimedia journalist. Kyle is currently the first vice president of the Iowa Freedom of Information Council and vice president of the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association.

Recommended for you