DES MOINES — Republicans announced committee leadership this week for the Iowa House and Iowa Senate, which gavel in a new session next month.

The Iowa House of Representatives, which will be led by a significant Republican majority when it gavels in next month, announced committee leadership assignments Tuesday.

Included in the leadership positions were three Courier-area representatives:

— District 80 Representative Holly Brink, R-Oskaloosa, will chair the government oversight committee.

— District 81 Representative-elect Cherielynn Westrich, R-Ottumwa, will be the vice chairperson for the public safety committee.

— District 82 Representative Jeff Shipley, R-Birmingham, will be the vice chair for the labor committee.

In the Iowa Senate, two Courier-area representatives were named to leadership positions:

— District 40 Senator Ken Rozenboom, R-Oskaloosa, will chair the agriculture and natural resources committee.

— District 42 Senator Rich Taylor, R-Mt. Pleasant, will be the vice chair of the education committee.

Of Iowa's 99 counties, 97 of them will be represented by at least one Republican in the Iowa House. Republicans in 2021 will hold 59 of the 100 seats in the Iowa House, a 32-18 majority in the Iowa Senate, and the governor's office.


Trending Video

Recommended for you