School admin offices

Courier file photo

OTTUMWA — So far, six candidates have filed their nomination papers for the upcoming school board elections.

Jon Bunt, who was appointed to assume Bill Allen’s former seat, has joined the race, as well as Krista Tedrow, who competed with Bunt for his position. Tedrow, who has some experience in the district, worked at Job Corps Ottumwa for a number of years and now operates as a consultant.

Both candidates have spoken about taking active rolls in the community. Bunt is especially interested in expanding the district’s mental health resources and pushing for improvements in school facilities. During her presentation to the board, Tedrow spoke about periodically sitting in on classrooms and professional development seminars to get a sense for how students and teachers think the district is being run.

Other candidates include Sarah Sels, who has a history on the city’s parks board, and David Weilbrenner, who served as board president during Nicole Kooiker’s appointment as district superintendent in 2016.

Two other local men, Joseph Gevock and Morgan Brown, have also filed to run.

Seats held by Michael Carpenter, Mike Dalbey, Gary Granneman and Board President Leisa Walker are up for election in November. Bunt’s seat will also be up for election.

For those interested in running, the deadline to submit nomination papers is 5 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 19. In order to be eligible, candidates must submit a notarized affidavit of candidacy along with a nomination petition with at least 50 signatures to the school board secretary. Both forms can be found online at the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

Candidates must reside within the Ottumwa district and receive no more than $6,000 in salary from the schools.

Visit the Ottumwa Schools website and look under “Board” for more information.

Jack Langland can be reached at


Recommended for you