Cubs win! Cubs win!

Members of the Cubs, the 2019 Ottumwa Little League City major champions, are (from left to right) Keaton Hilliard, Cameron Manary, Griffin Johnston, Kade Francis, Nolan Heller, Harley Barndt, John Hardin, Luke Thompson, William Hilliard, Nehemiah Wolfing and Adyen Robinson.

OTTUMWA — Just like the Chicago Cubs in 2016, winning a championship didn't come easy for the Ottumwa Little League baseball Cubs.

Leading 5-1 going into the final inning of the city championship game on Wednesday, the Cubs had to hold off a late-inning rally by the Packwood Ramblers. Despite giving up three runs in the top of the sixth, the Cubs were able to clinch the championship on a thrilling play throwing out the potential tying run at the plate to secure a 5-4 win. 

The Cubs finished the year with a record of 19-1. The team is sponsored by Vaughn Automotive. The city championship game was sponsored by JBS.

The Packwood Ramblers finish 16-4. Teams now prepare to Iowa District 7 all-star tournament play, which begins in Bloomfield on Wednesday, July 3, with a matchup between Monroe County and Davis County.

The double-elimination tournament will continue with matchups on July 5 including Appanoose County at Lucas County, Jefferson County at Ottumwa American and Fox River at Ottumwa Little League. Je-Wa-Ke will host the winner of the Monroe County-Davis County game on July 5.

Fox River will host a consolation game on July 6 with Appanoose County or Lucas County taking on either Jefferson County or Ottumwa American. The winners of those two July 5 games meet at Ottumwa Little League on July 7 as will the July 5 winners from Je-Wa-Ke and Ottumwa Little League at Jefferson County.

Ottumwa American and Appanoose County will host consolation bracket games on July 7. The winners July 7 in the winners bracket will play at Jefferson County on July 8 while consolation winners will play at Lucas and Appanoose County the same night.

The final consolation games will be played July 9 at Je-Wa-Ke and July 10 at Monroe County. The Iowa District 7 Little League baseball championship will be decided at Fox River on July 11 with a potential if necessary game to be played on July 12 should each team in the championship suffer one loss during tournament play.

The Ottumwa Little League 12U “A” All-Stars will include Nolan Heller, Cameron Manary, Nehemiah Wolfing, Harley Barndt, Griffin Johnson, William Hilliard, Dylan Forney, Milo Canny, Tucker Long, Samantha Weeks, Marcus Johnson, Jacob Figueroa and Albert Aviles. T.J. Heller will serve as the team’s manager.

The Ottumwa Little League 10U All-Stars will include Bode Ferrell, Tate Frueh, Keaton Hilliard, Carter Johnson, Gracie Johnson, Mitchell Jordan, Gavin Monaghan, Preston McClure, Garrett Pumphrey, Hunter Sandergren, Fudge Van Englehoven, Matthew Webber and Dawson Weller. The team’s coaching staff will be made up of Brett Monaghan, Mike Ferrell, Jeremy Frueh, Jeremy Weller and Sylvie Monaghan.

Games times for district tournament play will be 6 p.m. for 10U games and 8 p.m. for 12U.

Ottumwa American Little League has also announced the 2019 all-star teams for 12U and 9U play. The American Little League 12U ‘A’ All-Stars are Brayden Larkin, Matt Mitchell, Chase Thompson, Landon Boney, Keaton Haines, Josiah Van Mannen, Grady Zuithoff, Brayden Bjorkgren, Maddex Kennedy, Draek Kennedy, Carter Tullis and Jace Mitchell while the ‘B’ All-Stars are William Overturf, John Paul Martinez, Kalen Moss, Koby Chanthalavanh, Dominic Moore, Logan Hubbell, Logan Grade, Caden Epp, Caden Lockwood, Chico Rodriguez-Andrade, Grady Reinhard, Mark Fraise, Trae Brown and Jonathan Miller.

The Ottumwa American Little League 9U ‘A’ All-Star team will feature Lucas McCarty, Keaton Paxton, Alex Rodriguez, Maddux Grove, Kolyn Keovangsack, Brantley Matthews, Dane Hubbard, Alex Gonzalez, Drake Sampson, Cohan Meinders, Tanner Hull, Tyler Hull and Scottie Creamer. The 9U ‘B’ All-Stars team will feature Sawyer Pierce, Konner Foundree, Brayden Brown, Jaxon Lemmedu. Carl Dimmit, Jr., Truett Van Mannen, Kaiden Haines, Jacob Kerby, Kohen Brandt, Preston Breckenridge, Crosby Zuithoff and Ryder Mason.