GOTHENBURG, Neb. — The Indian Hills golf team is off to an outstanding start at the NJCAA District III Tournament being held at Wild Horse Golf Course, Gothenburg, Neb. today and tomorrow.

Through 18 holes, the Warriors hold the team lead by nine strokes over second-place Hutchinson. The Warriors also hold the top four spots on the leaderboard.

“Frankly, I couldn’t be more happy with how we played,” said Warrior coach Mike Hagen. “This is a tough course — it’s windy and the greens are rock hard — but we’re up against three other top 12 teams and we’re beating all of them.”

IHCC’s Wade Pettitt has the individual lead after carding an even-par 72, while Mike Oimoen, Eric Anfinson and Jake Weeber are all tied for second place with rounds of 74.

Johnson County is 12 strokes in back of the Warriors, and Dodge City is 14 shots behind. Those two teams and Johnson County will be chasing the Warriors today in the 54-hole tilt, with the winner advancing to the NJCAA Division I National Tournament held in Phoenix, Ariz.

“We’ve got them (Johnson County) by nine, which is good, but we gave up too many shots coming back in,” said Hagen. “It’s pivotal that we go out there and jump on these teams on the first nine holes Tuesday. We need to finish the round better, but that’s why we played the tough schedule we’ve played all spring, to prepare us for a moment like this. These guys are in a postion to be successful, and I just hope we can come out and excel through the late part of the tournament.”

NJCAA District III Tournament

At Wild Horse Golf Course, Gothenburg, Neb.


Par 72


Team scoring — Indian Hills 294, Hutchinson, Kan. 303, Johnson County 306, Dodge City 308, Coffeyville 315, Pratt 316, Kansas City 317, Iowa Western 320, Indian Hills B Squad 320, Otero, Kan. 333, McCook 334, LaMar 335, Trinidad 339, Colby 352, East Wyoming 365.

Leaders — Wade Pettitt IHCC 72, Mike Oimoen IHCC 74, Eric Anfinson IHCC 74, Jake Weeber IHCC 74.

IHCC individuals — Wade Pettitt 72, Mike Oimoen 74, Eric Anfinson 74, Jake Weeber 74, John Danielson 80.

IHCC B Squad individuals — Luke Carson 77, Aaron Nihart 78, Ryan Cannon 82, Matt Ericksen 83, Nick Ott 83.


Trending Video

Recommended for you